Hoskins joins ASBMB Meetings Committee

Photo of Aaron Hoskins
Professor Aaron Hoskins.

Professor Aaron Hoskins is a new member of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Meetings Committee. Other new committee members include professor Kim Orth of the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Martha Cyert, a professor and department chair at Stanford, and Jared Rutter, a professor at the University of Utah and Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

Hoskins studies the enzymes that control pre-mRNA splicing, using single-molecule techniques to see how splice sites are recognized and how events in RNA processing are linked. He is a past participant in the Beckman Young Investigator program and last year was named a UW–Madison 2021-2022 Vilas Associate. He’s also a new co-author on Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry, a definitive reference text for biochemistry students around the world. Hoskins earned his Ph.D. at Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2006.