Photo of Mike Sussman
Jan 02, 2006

University of Wisconsin-Madison biochemist Mike Sussman has been elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

The AAAS Council elected 376 members as Fellows of AAAS. These individuals will be recognized for their contributions to science at the Fellows Forum to be held on 18 February 2006 during the AAAS Annual Meeting in St. Louis.

Photo of Rick Amasino
Jan 01, 2006

University of Wisconsin-Madison biochemist Richard Amasino has been elected by his peers to lead the American Society of Plant Biologists. Amasino became president-elect of ASPB Oct. 1, 2005. ASPB is a non-profit science society of nearly 6,000 members from the United States and nearly 60 other nations.

Photo of Tom Record
Oct 01, 2005

Thomas Record, a biophysical chemist at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, has been named one of six 2006 Society Fellows by the Biophysical Society, a 7,000-member U.S. organization that represents global biophysics research.

A chaired professor of chemistry and biochemistry, Record hopes that the new honor will help in continuing to attract talented students and extramural funding for his research.

A UW-Madison faculty member for 35 years, Record is a basic scientist whose laboratory has long explored how cell proteins recognize and bind to DNA sequences, a critical...

Photo of John Markley
Sep 03, 2005

University of Wisconsin-Madison biochemists have developed an approach that allows them to measure with unprecedented accuracy the strengths of hydrogen bonds in a protein. The scientists were then able to predict the function of different versions of the protein based on structural information, a novel outcome that was published recently in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

Photo of Ivan Rayment
Sep 02, 2005

Vibrantly colored creatures from the depths of the South Pacific Ocean harbor toxins that potentially can act as powerful anti-cancer drugs, according to research findings from University of Wisconsin-Madison biochemists and their Italian colleagues.

The research team has defined the structure of the toxins and provided a basic understanding that can be used to synthesize pharmaceuticals, according to a study published this week in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS).

CESG logo
Jun 01, 2005

Researchers at the Center for Eukaryotic Structural Genomics, based at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, have received a $20 million award to fund Phase II of the Protein Structure Initiative over the next five years.

May 18, 2005

Graduate Teaching Excellence Award: David W. Staple
This award is intended to recognize a Biochemistry graduate student who has consistently shown evidence of quality, commitment, and innovation in teaching. Graduate students who have completed their Biochemistry major teaching requirements are eligible. Nominations are requested from all instructors of Biochemistry classes with graduate teaching assistants. Nominations for students who have assisted in more than one class during their two semesters of required teaching should be presented as joint nominations between all involved...

Photo of Alice
May 03, 2005

Wisconsin's newest agricultural ambassador, Gena Cooper, 22 of Mukwonago, is ready to take the message of quality agricultural products to the ends of the state, the country and beyond.

Laura Kiessling photo
May 01, 2005

The world's largest scientific society, the American Chemical Society, has named Laura L. Kiessling editor in chief of ACS Chemical Biology, a new publication scheduled to launch in 2006. Kiessling is professor of chemistry and biochemistry and MacArthur Foundation Fellow at UW-Madison.

Photo of Colleen Clary
Apr 02, 2005

Colleen Clary from the Department Office was awarded for her dedication and hard work with graduate student admissions.

Photo of Rick Amasino
Apr 01, 2005

Four faculty members are recipients of the 2005 Hilldale Awards, which annually recognize excellence in teaching, research and public service.

The awards, given yearly since 1987, honor top professors in four university divisions: biological sciences, physical sciences, social studies, and arts and humanities.

Congratulations Professor Amasino

Photo of Dave Nelson
Mar 01, 2005

The award is to recognize faculty/staff who have demonstrated unusual concern for, and provided exceptional service to, undergraduate, graduate and Short Course students. The service should exceed the level that might normally be expected from faculty or staff, and can include: mentoring /advising of individual students or student groups; creating formal or informal experiential learning opportunities; providing *leadership to improve the educational experience; service on committees related to student life and academic achievement; other activities that enhance the educational experience...

Photo of Ron Raines
Feb 01, 2005

The Emil Thomas Kaiser Award from the Protein Society award recognizes a significant contribution in applying chemistry to the study of proteins.

Congrats Dr. Raines.

Jan 01, 2005

Yuehui He, Shelly Lusetti and Brian Miller are the recipients of the 2005 Paul D. Boyer Postdoctoral Excellence Award

Photo of John Suttie
May 04, 2004

John W. Suttie, professor emeritus, biochemistry, has received the Conrad A. Elvehjem Award from the American Society for Nutritional Sciences in recognition of his outstanding service to nutrition as a scientist, editor, adviser and communicator on behalf of the profession.