Photo of James Ntambi
Apr 13, 2016

Professor James Ntambi has been honored with one of eight 2016 Wisconsin Without Borders Awards. Professor Ntambi was part of the Village Health Project team honored with the Peter Bosscher Award.

The Wisconsin Without Borders Awards Ceremony is on Thursday, April 21 fro 4-5:30pm in the Wisconsin Idea Room at the Education Building on Bascom.

ASBMB2016 logo image
Apr 05, 2016

UW-Madison Bochemistry students traveled to San Diego for this years American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology annual meeting.

From left to right: Matt Stefely (Pagliarini), Brexton Turner (Hoskins), Alina Zdechlik (Ntambi), Sara Bugliosi (Landick), Lindsey Felth, Mary Menhart (Cox), Bowon Joung (Cox), George Luo (Hoskins), Matt Lammers (Weibel), Serena Wan (Cox), and Willey Lin (Eisenstein)

We had 11 students from the department compete in the undergraduate research poster competition here this past Saturday. There were about 230 students from across the...

Photo of Hannah Mast in the lab
Apr 04, 2016

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established by Congress in 1986 to honor Senator Barry Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the U.S. Senate.

Congratulations to Hannah Mast from the Aaron Hoskins lab.

Photo of Sam Butcher
Mar 30, 2016

Sam Butcher has been awarded the Spitzer Excellence in Teaching Award.

The Spitzer Teaching Award recognizes an individual who has significantly enhanced the quality and impact of undergraduate or graduate instruction in CALS through outstanding teaching practices, pedagogical scholarship or other beyond-the-classroom accomplishments that have shaped students' learning experiences and/or the teaching practices of other instructors.

The CALS community is invited to help celebrate the college’s 2016 CALS staff and faculty honorees, including CALS faculty and staff award winners...

Photo of Thiago Santos
Mar 21, 2016

Thiago Santos from the Weibel lab has been named a recipient of a Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship Award. This award, administered by the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences was established through the estate of Elsa Thomsen. The Louis and Elsa Thomsen Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship is based on excellent academic performance and research productivity during ones Ph.D. career at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Congratulations Thiago!

Photo of Kallee Radtke
Mar 15, 2016

Biochemistry payroll and benefits specialist Kallee Radtke was recently honored with the Rose M. Klein Special Events Award

Photo of Dave Pagliarini
Feb 19, 2016

David Pagliarini was named by President Obama as one of the recipients of the Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor bestowed on early career scientists and engineers by the United States Government. The winners will receive their awards at a Washington, DC ceremony this spring.

Photo of Dave Pagliarini at White House Reception and follow-up story courtesy of eCals

Photo of Laura Kiessling
Feb 10, 2016

Created in 1962 through a gift to the Board of Regents through the University of Wisconsin Foundation, the Hilldale Fund is dedicated to the support of projects that advance scholarly activity at UW-Madison.  The fund has benefited from income realized from the operation of the Hilldale Shopping Center, which was constructed on university-owned land, and more recently from proceeds from the sale of that real estate.

Photo of Shared Vision icon
Jan 15, 2016

The McPherson Eye Research Institute invites you to view its spring semester exhibition in the Mandelbaum & Albert Family Vision Gallery, entitled Shared Vision: Tales of Science Illustration.

Artistic works by Kate Baldwin, Kandis Elliot, H. Adam Steinberg, and Laura Vanderploeg will be displayed from January 19 through May 20, 2016.

**Meet the artists at the exhibition opening reception on Wednesday, January 27th from 5pm to 7:00pm.  Join them for refreshments and conversation as you learn how scientific data has been transformed into engaging artwork that communicates...

Photo of Ron Raines
Dec 16, 2015

The Humboldt Prize, also known as the Humboldt Research Award, is an award given by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation to internationally renowned scientists and scholars. The prize is currently valued at € 60,000 with the possibility of further support during the prize winner's life. Nominations must be submitted by established academics in Germany.

Photo of John Ralph
Dec 03, 2015

“When we talk to people in the biofuels industry, what we are hearing is that creating value from lignin could be game-changing,” says Timothy Donohue, a CALS professor of bacteriology and director of the UW–Madison-based Great Lakes Bioenergy Research Center, where Ralph has a lab. “It could be catalytic.”

Photo of Matthew Lammers
Nov 17, 2015

This grant enables honors students to undertake more demanding and extensive honors senior thesis research projects than might otherwise be possible. Besides recognition of an excellent thesis proposal, grant recipients receive funds (up to $1500) to cover the expendable supplies, travel expenses and related costs needed to complete the research.

Congratulations Matthew from the Weibel lab.

Photo of Luara Kiessling
Nov 10, 2015

Laura Kiessling, professor in the Department of Biochemistry and the Department of Chemistry, has served the University of Wisconsin-Madison for over 24 years. She is a leading figure in chemical biology and her research has provided new insights and discoveries in several areas of biochemical principles, changing existing paradigms. She has been heavily involved in leadership and service roles in the college, university and beyond, including service as the director of the Keck Center for Chemical Genomics since 2002 and the director of the NIH Chemistry-Biology Interface Program since...

Photo of Madhusudan Rajendran
Oct 14, 2015

The American Society for Microbiology (ASM) has selected Madhusudan Rajendran from the University of Wisconsin - Madison as a 2015 award recipient of the ASM Undergraduate Research Capstone Program.

The ASM Undergraduate Research Capstone Program (UR-Capstone) focuses on enhancing presentations and networking skills, and provides students with resources to transition to disciplinary scientific meetings.

Capstone awardees demonstrate superior research project involvement and knowledge, commitment to research, and academic achievement. Each awardee received up to a $1,500...

Oct 14, 2015

The WARF Discovery Challenge is a program pioneered by the WARF student ambassadors with the goal of encouraging graduate students and postdoctoral researchers from across the entire campus to learn from each other and expand their research vision.

Congratulations Matthew (Weibel Lab)