UW Crest
Apr 18, 2012

Amy Davis
Brandon Hernandez
Lauren Hoffer
Athavi Jeezanathan
Benjamin Knight
Kellie Kolb
Nathan Menninga
Ryan Sacotte
Yuliang Sun
Michael Voss
Amy Yan


National Science Foundation logo
Apr 18, 2012

Congratulations winners:

Josue Baeze (Denu lab)
Ginny Kincaid (Kiessling lab)
Erin Ronanye (Cox lab)
Corey Nemec (Ansari lab)
Kelly Stecker (Sussman lab)
Chrissy Petzold (Keck lab)

Apr 18, 2012

The Louis and Elsa Thomsen Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowships were established by the estate of Elsa Thomsen and are designated to support graduate students who have established an outstanding research record.

Congratulations Justin (Fox Lab) a recipient of this year’s award.

Photo of Lars Renner
Mar 01, 2012

This award recognizes and rewards excellence in research accomplishments by a postdoctoral student in Biochemistry.

This was made possible by a generous donation from Paul D. Boyer

Photo of Hannah Tuson
Feb 08, 2012

This award honors graduate students who consistently provide quality guidance and scientific training in mentoring undergraduate students in their research efforts.

Photo of Ben Knowles
Feb 08, 2012

This award is intended to recognize a Graduate Student who has consistently shown evidence of quality, commitment, and innovation in teaching.

Photo of Kelly Hoadley
Feb 08, 2012

This award recognizes a graduate or postdoctoral student(s) who best exemplifies the spirit of Sigrid Leirmo, who received her Ph.D. degree in the Department of Biochemistry (1989) and was a postdoctoral research associate in the Department of Bacteriology when she died tragically in an accident in October, 1990. Dr. Leirmo was widely acknowledged among her fellow students and colleagues both as a promising researcher and as an enthusiastic friend and mentor.

Photo of Biochemistry buildings
Jan 30, 2012

A narrated tour of UW-Madison's Biochemistry Complex led by biochemistry professor Mike Cox.

Photo of Judith Kimble
Jan 12, 2012

Judith Kimble has been selected to serve on President Obama’s Committee on the National Medal of Science.

Photo of Paul Bertics
Dec 27, 2011

Biomolecular chemist Paul J. Bertics, a member of the School of Medicine and Public Health faculty, died unexpectedly at home on Thursday, Dec. 22 at age 55. Paul was a member of IPiB, the joint graduate program between Biochemistry and Biomolecular Chemistry.

Photo of Aaron Hoskins
Dec 19, 2011

Molecular Machine’s Workings Visualized. Chemical labeling and microscopy technique demonstrates its power on the spliceosome. Hoskins lab.

AAAS logo
Dec 13, 2011

Rick Amasino and John Denu have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Selection as a AAAS fellow is a high honor conferred by peers in recognition of distinguished efforts to advance science and its applications. AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society, and the tradition of naming fellows in honor of their achievements dates to 1874.

Dec 06, 2011

A molecular biologist and professor emeritus of genetics at UW-Madison, who studied the structure that forms proteins inside cells here between 1963 and 1984, passed away on Nov. 19 at age 84 in California.

Nov 16, 2011

Biochemist Har Gobind Khorana, whose UW work earned the Nobel Prize, died November 9th.

Photo of Aaron Hoskins
Nov 08, 2011

The work of Biochemistry professor Aaron Hoskins has been highlighted for 2011 by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.