photo of Katie Brenner
Nov 06, 2014

L’Oreal USA and the American Association for the Advancement of Science has selected Katie Brenner as one of five female scientists in the U.S. to receive the For Women in Science Fellowship this year.

Photo of Ron Raines
Oct 31, 2014

For the third year, the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation Innovation Awards program honored inventors for the year’s most exceptional UW-Madison inventions. Biochemistry professor Ron Raines and coworker Dr. Caglar Tanrikulu were finalists for their invention of collagen mimics that could help heal wounds.

Photo of Laura Kiessling
Sep 10, 2014

In a study published, Sept. 8, in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, a team of researchers from the University of Wisconsin-Madison has added a new wrinkle to the cell differentiation equation, showing that the stiffness of the surfaces on which stem cells are grown can exert a profound influence on cell fate.

“To derive lineages, people use soluble growth factors to get the cells to differentiate,” explains Laura Kiessling, a UW-Madison professor of chemistry and biochemistry and stem cell expert.

Photo of Amanda Beltrame
Jul 15, 2014

The Wisconsin Agricultural and Life Sciences Alumni Association recently continued its proud tradition of promoting student excellence at UW–Madison.

Amanda Belltrame chosen as one of ten outstanding sophomores through a rigorous prescreening process that focused equally on academic achievement, campus involvement/leadership, community service, and relevant experience. 

Jun 27, 2014

“These fish have converted a muscle to an electric organ,” explains Mike Sussman, a professor of biochemistry and director of the UW-Madison Biotechnology Center. The six electric fish lineages, all of which evolved independently, used essentially the same genes and developmental and cellular pathways to make an electric organ.

Jun 17, 2014

The annual award from the Greater Milwaukee Foundation supports emerging investigators with innovative ideas in biochemistry, biological sciences and cancer research.

Tucker Carrocci
Jun 09, 2014

Tucker Carrocci from the Hoskins Lab won the 2014 Biochemistry Poster Prize for "innovation in the study of RNA biochemistry" at the 2014 RNA Society Meeting in Quebec City, Canada.  His poster was entitled "Deoxyribozymes for Preparation of Fluorescent Pre-mRNAs without Splinted Ligation".

Jun 03, 2014

UW-Madison's David Brow, Samuel Butcher and colleagues have captured images of the splicesome, revealing details never seen before.

May 13, 2014

Danielle Lohman (Pagliarini Lab) and Sandy Tseng (Ansari Lab) have earned 2014 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program Fellowships. Their selection was based on their outstanding abilities and accomplishments, as well as their potential to contribute to strengthening the vitality of the US science and engineering enterprise.

This award also recognizes significant contributions to science outreach, signified by Danielle and Sandy's roles as the co-chairs of the Student Faculty Liaison Committee (SFLC) Outreach program.

Rachel Dvorak
May 08, 2014

Each year, an American university may nominate only four undergraduates for a Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship, one of the most prestigious awards in the U.S. conferred upon undergraduates studying the sciences.

Rachel Dvorak, an undergrad junior majoring in biochemistry has won a 2014 Goldwater Scholarship. Rachel currently is working in Mike Cox's lab. She hopes to receive a doctorate in neurology, as well as a medical degree, in order to conduct research in neurology. She aims to develop treatments and prevention methods for dementia-related diseases and disorders.

Douglas Weibel
May 01, 2014

Just as he does with his research, Weibel takes an interdisciplinary approach to teaching.

He has made critical contributions to several biochemistry courses, including a complete reorganization of Biochemistry 651, a capstone for the major that now interweaves physics, engineering, chemistry and biology concepts, and also includes hands-on opportunities for students to dissemble instruments and study their design.

May 01, 2014

Allison Abellaneda, Willdonger Lab
Matthew Ashton, Hoskins Lab
Emily Baumann, Audhya Lab
Daniel Chantigian, Holden Lab
Sherry Cheng, Record Lab
Rachel Dvorak, Cox Lab
Victoria Heinrich, Weibel Lab
Isabel Johnson, Pagliarini Lab
Honghong Liao, Butcher Lab
Jiayue Liu, Ansari Lab
Victoria Martino, DeLuca Lab
Jennifer Nguyen, Willdonger Lab

Award recipients will be recognized at the Chancellor's Undergraduate Awards Ceremony on Monday, May 5, 2014, from 7-8:30 p.m., in Memorial Union's Great Hall.

Apr 28, 2014

Congratulations to the 2014 Biochemistry Undergraduate Travel Award winners:

T. Reid Alderson:  John Markley Lab
Matthew Ashton:  Aaron Hoskins Lab
Honghong Liao:  Samuel Butcher Lab
Hung Tae Kim:  Dr. Jay Yang (Dept. of Anesthesiology) and Dr. Daniel Resnick (Dept. of Neurosurgery)

Apr 28, 2014

Chin Leng Cheng has won a University Book Store Award this semester for his work on RNA processing enzymes. Chin Leng is a senior undergraduate biochemistry major working under the tutelage of Dr. Kevin Desai in the Raines Lab. Chin Leng will matriculate to graduate school at Yale University this fall.

Supported by a generous grant from the University Book Store, this award recognizes undergraduate students who have completed an outstanding independent project, such as a senior thesis, at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Photo of Emily Zytkiewicz
Apr 18, 2014

Emily Zytkiewicz, a junior Biochemistry major, is the recipient of the 2014 Adult Student Scholarship Award. Congratulations!