Photo of Doug Weibel
Sep 20, 2011

The NIH Director's New Innovator Award addresses two important goals: stimulating highly innovative research and supporting promising new investigators. Dr. Weibel's project title: Revisiting The Bacterial Cell Wall As A Target For New Antibiotics

Congratulations Doug!

Photo of Dave Pagliarinin
Sep 12, 2011

Glenn Awards were initiated in 2007, to provide unsolicited funds to researchers investigating the biology of aging. The grants are to assist scientists where funding shortages threaten to impede scientific progress. Award recipients are selected from nominees provided by an anonymous scientific advisory committee. Applications are not accepted.


Congratulations Dr. Pagliarini.

Photo of Sonia Trevino-Dopatka
Aug 24, 2011

The American Society for Microbiology (ASM) has selected Sonia Trevino-Dopatka from University of Wisconsin as a 2011 award recipient of the ASM Undergraduate Research Fellowship.

This fellowship is aimed at highly competitive students who wish to pursue graduate careers (Ph.D. or M.D./Ph.D.) in microbiology. Fellows have the opportunity to conduct full time summer research at their institution with an ASM mentor and present their research results at the 112th ASM General Meeting in San Francisco, CA if their abstract is accepted.

Each fellow receives up to a $4,000 stipend,...

Jul 14, 2011

Biochemistry undergraduate student Jeffrey Vinokur, the Dancing Scientist, returns from tour (37 shows in 30 days). Plans 2012 east and west coast tours.

Photo of Mike Sussman
Jul 06, 2011

Congratulations Mike Sussman for your appointment.

Photo of Dave Pagliarini
May 12, 2011

The Searle Scholars Program makes grants to selected universities and research centers to support the independent research of exceptional young faculty in the biomedical sciences and chemistry. Congratulations Dr. Pagliarini.

Phot of Laura Kiessling
May 05, 2011

Dr. Kiessling has been appointed to a WARF Professorship. Congratulations Laura!

Photo of Marv Wickens
Apr 20, 2011

In an annual tradition of honoring the leading "thinkers and doers" Marv Wickens has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Marv joins fellow 2011 inductees Bob Dylan, Paul Simon and Helen Mirren.

Photos of Nate and Jenna
Apr 12, 2011

The Louis and Elsa Thomsen Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship was awarded to Nathan Bruender from the Holden Lab and the Senator Robert Caldwell Fellowship has been awarded to Ye Jin (Jenna) Eun from the Weibel Lab.

Photo of Aseem Ansari
Mar 23, 2011

The Romnes awards recognize exceptional faculty members who have earned tenure within the last four years.

Mar 23, 2011

The Kellett award, supported by the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation (WARF), recognizes outstanding mid-career faculty members who are five to 20 years past the first promotion to a tenured position.


Congratulations Dr. Holden.

Photo of Brittany Albaugh
Feb 15, 2011

Congratulations 2011 Biochemistry Graduate Teaching Award Winner: Brittany Albaugh

Photo of Matthew Copeland
Feb 15, 2011

Congratulations 2011 Biochemistry Graduate Mentoring Award Winner: Matthew Copeland

Photo of Michael Goren
Feb 15, 2011

Congratulations 2011 Biochemistry Graduate Liermo Award: Michael Goren

Photo of Mike Cox
Jan 13, 2011

Selection as a AAAS fellow is a high honor conferred by peers in recognition of distinguished efforts to advance science and its applications. AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society.