Photo of Aseem Ansari
Mar 23, 2011

The Romnes awards recognize exceptional faculty members who have earned tenure within the last four years.

Mar 23, 2011

The Kellett award, supported by the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation (WARF), recognizes outstanding mid-career faculty members who are five to 20 years past the first promotion to a tenured position.


Congratulations Dr. Holden.

Photo of Brittany Albaugh
Feb 15, 2011

Congratulations 2011 Biochemistry Graduate Teaching Award Winner: Brittany Albaugh

Photo of Matthew Copeland
Feb 15, 2011

Congratulations 2011 Biochemistry Graduate Mentoring Award Winner: Matthew Copeland

Photo of Michael Goren
Feb 15, 2011

Congratulations 2011 Biochemistry Graduate Liermo Award: Michael Goren

Photo of Mike Cox
Jan 13, 2011

Selection as a AAAS fellow is a high honor conferred by peers in recognition of distinguished efforts to advance science and its applications. AAAS is the world's largest general scientific society.

Photo of Flavia Farana
Jan 03, 2011

Flavia Arana leaving the department January 7th.

You were always interested in how best to serve the needs of our students and faculty. You were always warm, generous, and sincere in your support of your colleagues. You always brought your intellect, savviness, and ambition to every task. And you had a great sense of humor too.

Thank you for your contributions and dedication to our faculty, students, and staff. Thank you for the opportunity to work with you, and learn from you. What a privilege to work with someone who is a great supervisor, colleague, and friend.


Photo of Paul Kaesberg
Jan 02, 2011

Emeritus Professor Paul J. Kaesberg, age 87, died on Friday, Dec. 24, 2010, surrounded by his family at his home in Madison.

Photo of George Phillips
Dec 08, 2010

Professor George Phillips, from the UW-Madison Department of Biochemistry, has been chosen as a future leader of the American Crystallographic Association.  The ACA, as it is commonly called, is a non-profit, scientific organization with over 2,200 members in more than 60 countries.  He will serve as Vice-President during 2011 and then President during 2012.

Photo of Laura Kiessling
Nov 16, 2010

Growing human embryonic stem cells in the lab is no small feat. Culturing the finicky, shape-shifting cells is labor intensive and, in some ways, more art than exact science.

Faculty: Laura Kiessling

Photo of Dana Bellissimo
Nov 16, 2010

Dana Bellissimo from the Record laboratory has been awarded the Trewartha Award.

The Trewartha Undergraduate Research Grant enables students to undertake more demanding and extensive honors senior thesis research projects than might otherwise be possible.

Congratulations Dana!

Photo of Laura Kiessling
Sep 20, 2010

Laura Kiessling was named an American Chemical Society (ACS) Fellow at the 2010 Fall National Meeting in Boston. She was honored for her outstanding contributions to the field of chemistry as a distinguished scientist and as a volunteer who has devoted her time to support ACS activities.  Nominees represent a wide range of technical areas and include scientists from academia, industry and government.

Photo of Jeffrey Vinokur
Sep 20, 2010

UW-Madison junior Jeffrey Vinokur is passionate about two things: chemistry and a style of hip-hop dancing called "popping."

Photo of Mike Sussman
Aug 24, 2010

In a study that promises to fill in the fine details of the plant world's blueprint for surviving drought, a team of Wisconsin researchers has identified in living plants the set of proteins that help them withstand water stress.

Faculty: Mike Sussman

Photo of Henry Lardy
Aug 10, 2010

Until months before his death, Lardy had been an active member of the university's bioscience community for more than six decades.