Photo of James Ntambi
Aug 01, 2012

James Ntambi has been elected to the Institute of Medicine Food and Nutrition Board. The Institute of Medicine (IOM) is the health arm of the National Academy of Sciences and is an independent, nonprofit organization that works outside of government to provide unbiased and authoritative advice to decision makers and the public.

Jun 25, 2012

Dr. J. Wesley Pike has been awarded the Career Award for Vitamin D Research at the 15th Vitamin D Workshop.

Photo of Ron Raines
Jun 20, 2012

A new company co-founded by professor Raines achieves top honor in clean-energy competition

Photo of Curry mural
Jun 04, 2012

A testament to a forward-thinking collaboration between the sciences and arts.

Photo of Dave Pagliarini
Jun 01, 2012

Recipients of the $200,000 Shaw prize are chosen by a panel of prominent scientists from around the country. The annual awards provide needed support to young scientists engaged in groundbreaking research in the fields of genetics, cell biology and cancer research at critical stages in their careers.

Congratulations Dr. Pagliarini.

Photo of Dan Barnish
May 03, 2012

His contribution is summarized by student Zeeshan Ul Haq:

“I believe Dan has the strongest interpersonal skills of any staff member I've ever interacted with, and within the biochemistry department, his reputation speaks for itself. Dan is a unique nominee in that he has created a number of new, effective, and creative incentives for meeting student needs including: the CALS and L&S Science Exploration Workshops, a newsletter for students in Biochemistry, and the new advising system in the Biochemistry department. Dan is also a diehard contributor to the Undergraduate...

Photo of our new building
May 01, 2012

Biochemistry complex blends old with new

UW Crest
Apr 18, 2012

Amy Davis
Brandon Hernandez
Lauren Hoffer
Athavi Jeezanathan
Benjamin Knight
Kellie Kolb
Nathan Menninga
Ryan Sacotte
Yuliang Sun
Michael Voss
Amy Yan


National Science Foundation logo
Apr 18, 2012

Congratulations winners:

Josue Baeze (Denu lab)
Ginny Kincaid (Kiessling lab)
Erin Ronanye (Cox lab)
Corey Nemec (Ansari lab)
Kelly Stecker (Sussman lab)
Chrissy Petzold (Keck lab)

Apr 18, 2012

The Louis and Elsa Thomsen Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowships were established by the estate of Elsa Thomsen and are designated to support graduate students who have established an outstanding research record.

Congratulations Justin (Fox Lab) a recipient of this year’s award.

Photo of Lars Renner
Mar 01, 2012

This award recognizes and rewards excellence in research accomplishments by a postdoctoral student in Biochemistry.

This was made possible by a generous donation from Paul D. Boyer

Photo of Hannah Tuson
Feb 08, 2012

This award honors graduate students who consistently provide quality guidance and scientific training in mentoring undergraduate students in their research efforts.

Photo of Ben Knowles
Feb 08, 2012

This award is intended to recognize a Graduate Student who has consistently shown evidence of quality, commitment, and innovation in teaching.

Photo of Kelly Hoadley
Feb 08, 2012

This award recognizes a graduate or postdoctoral student(s) who best exemplifies the spirit of Sigrid Leirmo, who received her Ph.D. degree in the Department of Biochemistry (1989) and was a postdoctoral research associate in the Department of Bacteriology when she died tragically in an accident in October, 1990. Dr. Leirmo was widely acknowledged among her fellow students and colleagues both as a promising researcher and as an enthusiastic friend and mentor.

Photo of Biochemistry buildings
Jan 30, 2012

A narrated tour of UW-Madison's Biochemistry Complex led by biochemistry professor Mike Cox.