Photo of Doug Weibel
Jul 15, 2008

The 2008 ICAAC Young Investigator Awards recognize and reward early-career scientists for their research excellence and potential in microbiology and infectious diseases.


Congratulations Dr. Weibel

Photo of Aseem Ansari
Jul 15, 2008

Career award: Exploring the Role of Kin28/Cdk7 in Triggering Sequential Histone and Polymerase Modifications

Congratulations Professor Ansari

Photo of Paul Cook
Jun 26, 2008

Paul Cook has been chosen to receive the Louis and Elsa Thomsen Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship based on his excellent academic performance and research productivity during his graduate studies.

Photo of Clayton Carlson
Jun 25, 2008

A class act!

The Graduate Mentoring Award honors a Biochemistry student who consistently provides quality guidance and scientific training in mentoring undergraduate students in their research efforts.  This year's Mentoring Award is awarded to Clay Carlson of the Ansari lab. 

Photo of Michael Killoran
Jun 25, 2008

This award is intended to recognize a Biochemistry graduate student who has consistently shown evidence of quality, commitment, and innovation in teaching.  This year's Graduate Teaching Excellence Award is awarded to Mike Killoran of the Keck lab.

Photo of Anna Fuezery
Jun 25, 2008

The Sigrid Leirmo Award is given to a graduate student or postdoctoral student who best exemplifies the spirit of Sigrid Leirmo. Sigrid received her PhD degree in Biochemistry in 1989 and was a postdoctoral research associate in the Department of Bacteriology when she died tragically in an accident in 1990.  This award acknowledges a graduate student or postdoctoral student who is acknowledged by her/his peers and advisors as one who displays clear promise as a research scientist.  Most importantly, the award is to be designated in appreciation of the student's consistent willingness to...

Photo of Laura Kiessling
May 28, 2008

This represents the highest level of recognition conferred by the Academy. Fellows of the Wisconsin Academy are elected for their high levels of accomplishment in their fields as well as a lifelong commitment to intellectual discourse.


Congratulations Doctor Kiessling

Photo of Doug Weibel
May 27, 2008

In selecting the Scholars, the Board looked for individuals who have already done important, innovative research and who have the potential for making significant contributions to biological research over an extended period of time.


Congratulations Professor Weibel

Photo of Aseem Ansari
Apr 23, 2008

Aseem Ansari is the recipient of the UW-College of Agricultural and Life Sciences Pound Research Award.

Photo of Laura Kiessling
Apr 07, 2008

Laura Kiessling, Hilldale Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Laurens Anderson Professor of Biochemistry, received the 2008 Guggenheim Fellowship for Chemoselective reactions for biology.

Congratulations Dr. Kiessling

Photo of James Ntambi
Apr 01, 2008

The annual awards recognize excellence in teaching and research.

2008 Vilas Associate Award in the Biological Sciences
2008 Arthur J. Maurer Extra Mile Award

The Arthur J. Maurer Extra Mile Award recognizes faculty and staff who have demonstrated unusual concern for and provided exceptional service to students over and above their regular responsibilities. It was established in honor of the late Arthur Maurer, a professor of poultry science for 28 years who passed away unexpectedly in 1998, by his wife Ellen.

Congratulations Professor Ntambi

Photo of Rick Amasino
Apr 01, 2008

Professor Amasino is recognized for teaching excellence.

2008 Spitzer Excellence in Teaching Award
2008 Alliant Energy Underkofler Excellence in Teaching Award

Photo of Marv Wickens
Apr 01, 2008

Marv Wickens, Max Perutz Professor of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry, is among four UW-Madison faculty members to receive 2008 Hilldale Awards

Photo of Doug Weibel
Mar 10, 2008

Congratulations to Dr. Weibel for being awarded a 3M Nontenured Faculty Grant from 3M's Research and Development sector, in partnership with the Corporate Giving Program.

The award recognizes outstanding new faculty for the quality and pertinence of their research, the subject of which is of interest to 3M. With the unrestricted funds offered by this grant, 3M hopes to encourage recipients to remain in the field of academia, teaching, and research.

Feb 28, 2008

Stuart Ballard, 17, a senior at West High School and a participant in the apprenticeship program, is working in the UW-Madison biochemistry department 's Center for Eukaryotic Structural Genomics, which studies proteins. After a year in the lab, he has been given more tasks and greater freedom.