Photo Award Group
Apr 20, 2013

Congratulations 2012 Biochemistry Graduate Award Winners
Boyer Award: Zak Campbell
Liermo Award: Amber Schuh
Grad Teaching: Rachel Kubiak
Grad Teaching: Basudeb Bhattacharyya

Photo Raines
Apr 19, 2013

The Royal Society of Chemistry has named Professor Ron Raines as the winner of the 2013 Jeremy Knowles Award. This annual award is "to recognize and promote the importance of inter- and multi-disciplinary research between chemistry and the life sciences".

Photo of Hector DeLuca
Mar 19, 2013

Election to NAI Fellow status is a high professional distinction accorded to academic inventors who have demonstrated a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and the welfare of society.

Photo Cleland
Mar 06, 2013

W. Wallace “Mo” Cleland January 6th 1930 - March 6th 2013

The Department of Biochemistry mourns the passing of Mo Cleland who died tragically on March 6th following a fall on ice. We will miss him greatly. We extend our condolences to his family and his vast array of scientific followers who have benefited from his clear vision of science over the past 53 years in Madison. The Department of Biochemistry is planning a celebration of his life in the Spring/Summer of 2014 and a memorial fund is being established.

Photo of Doug Weibel
Mar 05, 2013

Congratulation Dr. Weibel!

Photo of John Ralph
Feb 26, 2013

The American Chemical Society- Cellulose and Renewable Materials Division has named Professor John Ralph the 2013 Anselme Payen Award winner for his outstanding contribution to their field of science.

Photo of Laura Kiessling
Dec 19, 2012

Professor Laura Kiessling has been named the recipient of the 2013 Murray Goodman Memorial Prize. This award will recognize Dr. Kiessling's seminal contributions in the area of molecular glycobiology and carbohydrate biochemistry. The award is presented by the Biophysical Society in partnership with the ACS Division of Biological Chemistry.

Photo of Colleen Hayes
Nov 19, 2012

Colleen Hayes, Ph.D., a nationally-recognized MS researcher and professor of biochemistry at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, was inducted into the Volunteer Hall of Fame at the National Multiple Sclerosis Leadership Conference, November 8-10 in Dallas, Texas. She was inducted in the Scientific Researcher category.

For more than 25 years, Dr. Hayes has devoted a significant amount of time to studying nutrition and the immune system as well as laying the foundation for much of today’s research into the role of vitamin D in MS. She also has been involved as a research volunteer...

Photo of John Ralph
Nov 06, 2012

Congratulations Ralph Lab. The grant was received through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program, administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars (CIES), to support research, teaching and sharing ideas abroad.

Photo of Doug Weibel
Nov 01, 2012

Cheap, simple bacteria test could spare newborns deadly infections.

"While that microbial environment in the gut is still developing, the introduction of one of many of the wrong kinds of bacteria may cause a severe immune response," says Douglas Weibel, biochemistry professor at UW-Madison. "In an infant, the immune system could just ravage the intestines."

Photo of Laura Kiessling
Nov 01, 2012

The highest honor of the carbohydrate division of the American Chemical Society, the Hudson Award was established in 1946 to recognize outstanding contributions to carbohydrate chemistry in education, research, or applications.

Congratulations Dr. Kiessling.

Photo of Mike Sussman
Oct 23, 2012

In this role, Sussman will head up a small team of Biotech Center scientists that will use modern scientific tools to analyze DNA and protein from the bones, pottery, seeds and other specimens found at the site. These techniques are expected to reveal new information about what life was like for Trojans.

Photo of Ron Raines
Oct 16, 2012

This year the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation Innovation Awards program began honoring inventors for the year’s most exceptional UW-Madison inventions. Biochemistry professor Ron Raines and coworker Dr. Kevin Desai submitted one of the six inventions selected as finalists for this year’s awards.

An independent panel selected the six finalists and awarded prizes to two winning inventions from the fiscal year's more than 370 eligible invention disclosures. The panel looked for inventions that provided exciting solutions to important problems and demonstrated great potential for...

Photo of Wes Pike
Oct 10, 2012

The Louis V. Avioli Founders Award honors an ASBMR member for fundamental contributions to bone and mineral basic research.

Congratulations Dr. Pike.

Photo of Mark Meyer
Oct 10, 2012

The award recognizes young investigators who submit top-ranking abstracts to the 2012 ASBMR annual Meeting.