Photo of Aaron Hoskins
Dec 19, 2011

Molecular Machine’s Workings Visualized. Chemical labeling and microscopy technique demonstrates its power on the spliceosome. Hoskins lab.

AAAS logo
Dec 13, 2011

Rick Amasino and John Denu have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Selection as a AAAS fellow is a high honor conferred by peers in recognition of distinguished efforts to advance science and its applications. AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society, and the tradition of naming fellows in honor of their achievements dates to 1874.

Dec 06, 2011

A molecular biologist and professor emeritus of genetics at UW-Madison, who studied the structure that forms proteins inside cells here between 1963 and 1984, passed away on Nov. 19 at age 84 in California.

Nov 16, 2011

Biochemist Har Gobind Khorana, whose UW work earned the Nobel Prize, died November 9th.

Photo of Aaron Hoskins
Nov 08, 2011

The work of Biochemistry professor Aaron Hoskins has been highlighted for 2011 by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute.

Photo of restoration project
Oct 25, 2011

Preserving a treasure. The 1940s murals by the famous painter John Steuart Curry were carefully preserved while the building around them was gutted and rebuilt.

Photo of Mike Sussman
Oct 07, 2011

Congratulations Mike Sussman!

Photo of Alan Attie
Oct 07, 2011

The UW-Madison researchers have spent the past decade conducting genetic analyses of obese diabetes-resistant and diabetes-susceptible mouse strains, and recently pinpointed a single amino acid difference.

PLOS Article here

Photo of Doug Weibel
Sep 20, 2011

The NIH Director's New Innovator Award addresses two important goals: stimulating highly innovative research and supporting promising new investigators. Dr. Weibel's project title: Revisiting The Bacterial Cell Wall As A Target For New Antibiotics

Congratulations Doug!

Photo of Dave Pagliarinin
Sep 12, 2011

Glenn Awards were initiated in 2007, to provide unsolicited funds to researchers investigating the biology of aging. The grants are to assist scientists where funding shortages threaten to impede scientific progress. Award recipients are selected from nominees provided by an anonymous scientific advisory committee. Applications are not accepted.


Congratulations Dr. Pagliarini.

Photo of Sonia Trevino-Dopatka
Aug 24, 2011

The American Society for Microbiology (ASM) has selected Sonia Trevino-Dopatka from University of Wisconsin as a 2011 award recipient of the ASM Undergraduate Research Fellowship.

This fellowship is aimed at highly competitive students who wish to pursue graduate careers (Ph.D. or M.D./Ph.D.) in microbiology. Fellows have the opportunity to conduct full time summer research at their institution with an ASM mentor and present their research results at the 112th ASM General Meeting in San Francisco, CA if their abstract is accepted.

Each fellow receives up to a $4,000 stipend,...

Jul 14, 2011

Biochemistry undergraduate student Jeffrey Vinokur, the Dancing Scientist, returns from tour (37 shows in 30 days). Plans 2012 east and west coast tours.

Photo of Mike Sussman
Jul 06, 2011

Congratulations Mike Sussman for your appointment.

Photo of Dave Pagliarini
May 12, 2011

The Searle Scholars Program makes grants to selected universities and research centers to support the independent research of exceptional young faculty in the biomedical sciences and chemistry. Congratulations Dr. Pagliarini.

Phot of Laura Kiessling
May 05, 2011

Dr. Kiessling has been appointed to a WARF Professorship. Congratulations Laura!