Photo of Ann Palmenberg
Mar 24, 2010

Since 1987, the Hilldale Awards have honored professors who excel in teaching, research and service. The university's top honor for faculty members. Congratulations Dr. Palmenberg.

GLBRC logo
Mar 15, 2010

A University of Wisconsin-Madison research team has developed a promising new chemical method to liberate the sugar molecules trapped inside inedible plant biomass, a key step in the creation of cellulosic biofuels.

See the article in the New York Times.

Ron Raines, GLBRC

Photo of Doug Weibel
Feb 25, 2010

The Sloan Research Fellowships seek to stimulate fundamental research by early-career scientists and scholars of outstanding promise.  These two-year fellowships are awarded in recognition of distinguished performance and a unique potential to make substantial contributions to their field. Congratulations Dr. Weibel.

Photo of Colleen Hayes
Jan 21, 2010

Dr. Hayes has studied nutrition and the immune system for more than 25 years, and vitamin D and MS for almost 20 years. She has many friends with MS. Dr. Hayes is a recipient of numerous National Multiple Sclerosis Society grants, and was notified in October that she would receive another award to continue her vitamin D studies.

"There is very good scientific evidence correlating low levels of vitamin D with a high risk of MS and with high disability in people with MS," said Colleen Hayes, PhD, a professor and researcher at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Photo of Ron Raines
Jan 13, 2010

"It's by far the most stable collagen ever made," says Ron Raines, a University of Wisconsin-Madison professor of chemistry and biochemistry who led the study, published in the Jan. 12 issue of the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences.

See the story here

Photo of Judith Kimble
Jan 12, 2010

Writing in the online edition of the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences this week (Jan. 11), scientists from UW-Madison and the University of California-Irvine present a new model of stem cell regulation.

Photo of Mike Cox
Nov 09, 2009

Michael Cox, Professor of Biochemistry, will receive the Regents' 17th annual Teaching Excellence Award. It is the highest recognition bestowed on members of UW System's faculty and academic staff for outstanding career achievements in teaching.

Photo of Takashi Higurashi
Oct 27, 2009

Dr. Takashi Higurashi from the Craig lab was awarded the best poster award and an oral presentation opportunity at the Stress Responses in Biology and Medicine Congress held in Sapporo, Japan. Congratulations Takashi!

Project Crystal logo
Oct 22, 2009

Professor Hazel Holden and Edgewood Campus School middle-school science teacher Daniel Toomey are bridging the gap between middle-school science and groundbreaking research, and get young adolescents excited about chemistry before high school. Project Crystal

Photo of James Ntambi
Oct 15, 2009

James Ntambi has been inducted as a Fellow of the Uganda National Academy of Sciences (FUNAS) in recognition of his excellent contribution to science and his commitment to promoting science in Uganda.
For more information on the Uganda National Academy click FUNAS

Photo of Mark Meyer
Oct 13, 2009

Pike laboratory member Mark Meyer was recently honored as a Young Investigator at the 14th Annual Workshop for Vitamin D in Brugge, Belgium. Congratulations Mark!

Photo of Hector DeLuca
Sep 15, 2009

Hector F. DeLuca, Madison, Wis., professor of biochemistry at UW-Madison, is internationally recognized for his contributions to human health. He's played a decisive role in the development and introduction of the natural hormone and related compounds as effective new drugs for the treatment of disease. Six compounds discovered and developed in DeLuca's laboratory are in use worldwide for the treatment of such conditions as vitamin D-resistant rickets, hypoparathyroidism, renal osteodystrophy, psoriasis and osteoporosis. Additional findings from DeLuca's lab are being explored as potential...

Photo of Ron Raines
Sep 11, 2009

We're delighted to report that Professor Ron Raines has won the 2010 Repligen Award from the American Chemical Society. The Repligen Award is a lifetime achievement award for outstanding contributions to our understanding of the chemistry of biological processes. Ron is the 25th winner of the award, and the youngest to date. He will be honored at the 240th ACS national meeting in Boston.

Photo of Paul Goetsch and Seong Min
Sep 10, 2009

Congratulations to Paul Goetsch and Dr. Seong Min Lee for their recognition at the American Society for Bone and Mineral Research 31st Annual meeting. Pike lab.

Photo of Doug Weibel
Sep 10, 2009

The DARPA Young Faculty Award (YFA) program will identify and engage rising research stars in junior faculty positions in academia and expose them to Department of Defense (DoD) needs and DARPA's program development process. The YFA program will provide high-impact funding to these rising stars early in their careers in order to develop their research ideas in the context of DoD needs. The long term goal is to develop the next generation of academic scientists, engineers, and mathematicians in key disciplines who will focus a significant portion of their career on DoD and National Security...