Raines Lab Logo

Alumni


Graduate Students - Ph.D.


Kristen A. Andersen
Ph.D. 2015

Catalent Pharma Solutions, Madison, WI
krandersen@gmail.com


Matthew R. Aronoff
Ph.D. 2015

Postdoctorate, ETH–Zürich
matthew.aronoff@org.chem.ethz.ch


Joseph B. Binder
Ph.D. 2009

Dow Chemical, Collegeville, PA
jbbinder@dow.com


Benjamin R. Caes
Ph.D. 2012

Siegwerk USA, Des Moines, IA
ben.caes@siegwerk.com


Tzu-Yuan (Cindy) Chao
Ph.D. 2010

Synermore, Taipei City, Taiwan
cchao@synermore.com


Sayani Chattopadhyay
Ph.D. 2012

Champion Technologies, Houston, TX
sayani.chattopadhyay@champ-tech.com


Senior Lecturer (Associate Professor), University of Durham
peter.chivers@durham.ac.uk


Assistant Professor, Harvard Medical School
achoud@broadinstitute.org


REG Life Sciences, South San Francisco, CA
steve.delcardayre@regI.com


Associate Professor (tenured), Lawrence University
kimberly.dickson@lawrence.edu


Associate Professor (tenured), Vassar College
ereberhardt@vassar.edu


Chelcie H. Eller
Ph.D. 2014

PPD, Middleton, WI
chelcie.eller@ppdi.com


Gregory A. Ellis
Ph.D. 2011

Postdoctorate, Naval Research Laboratory
gaellis12@gmail.com


Assistant Professor, Tufts University
stephen.fuchs@tufts.edu


Assistant Professor, University of Wisconsin–La Crosse
kgorres@uwlax.edu


Associate Professor, Harvard Medical School
marcia_haigis@hms.harvard.edu


Joshua J. Higgin
Ph.D. 2004

Research Triangle Institute, Research Triangle Park, NC
higgin@unc.edu


Trish T. Hoang
Ph.D. 2016

Postdoctorate, University of Wisconsin–Madison
trishoang0211@gmail.com


Cara L. Jenkins
Ph.D. 2004

Administrative Program Specialist, University of Wisconsin–Madison
clbradfo@wisc.edu


Associate Professor (tenured), Butler University
rjjohns1@butler.edu


Sean B. Johnston
Ph.D. 2015

Google, Mountain View, CA
seanjohnston@google.com


Assistant Professor, IISER Pune
jkalia@iiserpune.ac.in


Bradley R. Kelemen
Ph.D. 1999

Genencor, Palo Alto, CA
bkelemen@genencor.com


Elizabeth A. Kersteen
Ph.D. 2005

EraGen Biosciences, Madison, WI
ekersteen@eragen.com


Professor (tenured), Seoul National University
jskim01@snu.ac.kr


Tony A. Klink
Ph.D. 2000

Wisconsin Crop Improvement Association, Madison, WI
wcia@mailplus.wisc.edu


McKinsey & Company, San Francisco, CA
martha_laboissiere@mckinsey.com


Group Leader, Janelia Farm Research Campus (HHMI)
lavisl@janelia.hhmi.org


J. Eugene Lee
Ph.D. 2006

KRISS, Daejeon, South Korea
j.eugenelee@gmail.com


Peter A. Leland
Ph.D. 2000

Aldevron, Madison, WI
protein@aldevron.com


Michael N. Levine
Ph.D. 2011, M.D. 2013

Surgery Intern, University of California, San Diego
mnlevine@ucsd.edu


Jo E. Lomax
Ph.D. 2014

Program Director, Harvard Medical School
​jelomax@gmail.com


John C. Lukesh, III
Ph.D. 2014

Assistant Professor, Wake Forest University
lukeshjc@wfu.edu


June M. Messmore
Ph.D. 1999

Scientist, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science
june.brownlee@rosalindfranklin.edu


Robert W. Newberry
Ph.D. 2016

Postdoctorate, University of California, San Francisco
robert.newberry@ucsf.edu


Associate Professor (tenured), University of Rochester
nilsson@chem.rochester.edu


Pathology Intern, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston, MA
mpalte@gmail.com


Associate Professor (tenured), Purdue University
park6@purdue.edu


Associate Professor, Seoul National University
biopark@snu.ac.kr


David J. Quirk
Ph.D. 1996

 


Thomas J. Rutkoski
Ph.D. 2008

Centyrex Venture, Spring House, PA
trutkosk@its.jnj.com


Assistant Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
mshoulde@mit.edu


Bryan D. Smith
Ph.D. 2006

Deciphera Pharmaceuticals, Lawrence, KS
bsmith@deciphera.com


Thomas P. Smith
Ph.D. 2017

Promega Bio Sciences, San Luis Obispo, CA
thom.smith2@gmail.com


Assistant Professor, University of Michigan
soellner@umich.edu


Nadia K. Sundlass
Ph.D. 2011, M.D. 2013

Dermatology Intern, University of Pittsburgh
nadia.sundlass@gmail.com


Annie Tam
Ph.D. 2007

Bristol–Myers Squibb, New Brunswick, NJ
annie.tam@bms.com


Northwest Perinatal Center, Portland, OR
barbrafisher@hotmail.com


James E. Thompson
Ph.D. 1995

Novartis, Cambridge, MA
james.thompson@novartis.com


Rebecca F. Turcotte
Ph.D. 2008, M.D. 2010

Pediatrics Resident, New York Presbyterian Hospital
rft2106@columbia.edu


Stoel Rives, Salt Lake City, UT
rwwatkins@stoel.com


James D. Vasta
Ph.D. 2015

Promega, Fitchburg, WI
jdvasta@gmail.com


Paula K. Wittmayer
Ph.D. 1996

Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Ridgefield, CT
paula.wittmayer@boehringer-ingelheim.com


Professor (tenured), Tianjin University
kenneth@tju.edu.cn


Postdoctorates


Matthew J. Allen
2004–2007

Professor (tenured), Wayne State University
mallen@chem.wayne.edu


Ulrich Arnold
1999–2004, 2006

Leader, Student Affairs, Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg
ulrich.arnold@biochemtech.uni-halle.de


Rasomoy Biswas
2011–2014

Aenova Group, Tittmoning, Germany
rasomoy.biswas@gmail.com


Margie T. Borra
2005–2008

Codexis, Redwood City, CA
margie.borra-garske@codexis.com


Olympic Yarn & Fiber, Montesano, WA
contact@olympicyarnandfiber.com


Sunil Chandran
2001–2004

Amyris, Emeryville, CA
chandran@amyris.com


Ho-Hsuan Chou
2009–2013

Assistant Professor, National Cheng-Kung University
hohsuan@mail.ncku.edu.tw


Mark A. Danielson
1998–2002

Scientist, Mayo Clinic
danielson.mark@mayo.edu


Kevin K. Desai
2011–2016

Aeon Global Health, Gainesville, GA
kdesai@aeonclinical.com


Daniel Gottlieb
2006–2008

Merckle Biotec, Ulm, Germany
daniel.gottlieb@merckle.de


Associate Professor (tenured), Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research
tgraju@jncasr.ac.in


Jeung-Hoi Ha
1990–1993

Scientist, State University of New York Upstate Medical University
haj@upstate.edu


Jonathan A. Hodges
2000–2004

Affinergy, Durham, NC
jahodges@nc.rr.com


Adjunct Professor, Montana State University
holmgren@chemistry.montana.edu


Robert J. Hondal
1998–2002

Associate Professor (tenured), The University of Vermont College of Medicine
robert.hondal@uvm.edu


Associate Professor (tenured), National Tsing Hua University
jchorng@mx.nthu.edu.tw


Assistant Professor, Black Hills State University
katrina.jensen@bhsu.edu


Byung-Moon Kim
1996–1999

Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
bmkim63@yahoo.com


Frank W. Kotch
2003–2007

Pfizer, Pearl River, NY
frank.kotch@gmail.com


Professor (tenured), University of Colorado Anschultz Medical Campus
tatiana.kutateladze@ucdenver.edu


Assistant Professor, Warren Wilson College
lmartin@warren-wilson.edu


Assistant Professor, University of Wisconsin–La Crosse
nmcgrath@uwlax.edu


Brian G. Miller
2001–2005

Associate Professor (tenured), Florida State University
miller@chem.fsu.edu


Eddie L. Myers
2006–2009

Scientist, University of Bristol
(private e-mail)


Moushumi Paul
2005–2006

United States Department of Agriculture, Philadelphia, PA
moushumi.paul@ars.usda.gov


Associate Professor (tenured), Universitat de Girona
marc.ribo@udg.es


L. Wayne Schultz
1995–1999

Assistant Professor, SUNY–Buffalo
schultz@nexus.hwi.buffalo.edu


Brett VanVeller
 2011–2014

Assistant Professor, Iowa State University
bvv@iastate.edu


Graduate Students - M.S.


Richele L. Abel
M.S. 2001

Christine N. Bradford
M.S. 2014

Robert G. Presler, Jr.
M.S. 2013


Seth R. Barrows
M.S. 1999

Nicole McElfresh
M.S. 2008

Kaylee A. Underkofler
M.S. 2014


Eric S. Benedict
M.S. 2004

Matthew P. Hinderaker
M.S. 2002

Jessica D. Pope
M.S. 2000


Interns


Thomas Baumann
2006

Germany
 

Parit Plainkum
2000 - 2001

Thailand
 



Mariëlle Delville
2008 - 2009

The Netherlands
 

Spain



Alice Ghidini
2014

Sweden
 

Christine I. Schilling
2005

Germany
 


Undergraduate Hall-of-Fame


Donald J. Bauhs, Jr.

Juneko E. Grilley

David M. Nierengarten

Marian P. Toscano


Amanda L. Beltrame

Patrick W. Hein

Samuel J. Orke

Fernando D. Venegas


Jacqueline J. Blank

Kimberli J. Kamer

Michael J. Waddell


George N. Caucutt

Vanessa M. Kung

Alexander A. Peterson

Kelly K. Wallin


Chin Leng Cheng

Erin L. Kurten

Joel M. Prince

Kevin A. Walters


Amy K. F. Davis

Shawn R. Lin

Khian Hong Pua

Melissa M. Yatzeck


Dana N. Fuchs

Bryan D. Marks

Kristine E. Staniszewski

Erich M. Yokel


Bernard D. Fula

Jennifer L. McKenzie

Rozamond Y. Sweeney