Hector F. DeLuca

Photo of Hector F. DeLuca
Emeritus Professor 2011-present
Harry Steenbock Research Professor 1965-2011
Department Chair 1970-1986 and 1991-2005
B.A., University of Colorado
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Hon. D.Sc., University of Colorado
Hon. D.Sc., Medical College of Wisconsin
Hon. Dr. Med., Karolinska Institute
Phone: (608) 262-1620
Email: deluca@biochem.wisc.edu

Honors & Awards

CALS Distinguished Alumni Award - 2009

Brian D. Howell Innovation Award, Madison, WI - 2005

Entrepreneur of the Year Award, Milwaukee, WI - 2004

Fellow, Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts, and Letters - 2002

Robert G. F. and Hazel T. Spitze Land Grant Faculty Award for Excellence,
UW-Madison - 1998

The Kilby Award - Dallas, TX - 1997

The Nevada Medal - Desert Research Institute - 1996

Fellow, American Institute of Nutrition - 1996

First Hans Fisher Visiting Professor - Rutgers University - 1993

SmithKline Beecham Clinical Assay Award - 1993

Hilldale Award in the Physical Sciences, UW-Madison - 1993

Foreign Adjunct Professor, Karolinska Institute, Sweden - 1992

Member of the Food and Nutrition Board of the National Academy of Sciences - 1992

Member of the National Task Force on the NIH Strategic Plan - 1992

Chair, UIR University Committee - 1991

The Rank Prize, London - 1988

Spencer Award, American Chemical Society, Kansas City Section - 1987

Distinguished Alumni Award, UW-Madison - 1987

Ray and Robert Kroc Lecturer, Harvard Medical School - 1986

Distinguished Achievement Award from the Milwaukee Academy of Medicine - 1986

Pfizer Lecturer in Clinical Pharmacology, Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia, PA - 1986

Reilly Lectureship, Notre Dame, Indiana - 1985

William F. Neuman Award from The American Society for Bone and Mineral Research - 1985

Honorary Degree Doctor of Medicine, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden - 1985

Bolton L. Corson Medal of The Franklin Institute, Philadelphia, PA - 1985

Roger J. Williams Award in Preventive Nutrition, Fort Worth, TX - 1984

Bristol-Myers Squibb/Mead Johnson Award for Distinguished Achievement in Nutrition Research - 1983

3M Life Sciences Award of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology - 1983

Burroughs Wellcome Visiting Professor - 1982

Sandoz Lectureship, Canadian Society of Endocrinology, Quebec City - 1982

William C. Rose Award, American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - 1982

R. A. Morton Lecturer of The Biochemical Society - 1981

Honorary Degree Doctor of Science, Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee,WI - 1980

Harvey Lecturer, Rockefeller University, New York - 1980

William Rose Lectureship, The Nutrition Foundation, Coronado, CA - 1980

A. O. Atwater Memorial Lecture, Dallas, TX - 1979

National Academy of Sciences - 1979

American Academy of Arts and Sciences  - 1978

Plenary Lecturer, Fifth International Congress on Hormonal Steroids, New Delhi - 1978

Distinguished Lecturer of Medical Science, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN - 1978

Lenore Richards Visiting Professor, Northwestern Hospital, Minneapolis, MN - 1977

Royal College Lecturer of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada - 1977

A. William and Austin Friend Memorial Visiting Professor - 1975

Dixon Medal (Sir Thomas and Lady Edith Dixon Orator) from the Irish Medical Council - 1975

Gairdner Foundation Award (Canada) - 1974

Roussel Prize of France - 1974

Honorary Degree Doctor of Science, University of Colorado-Boulder - 1975

General Session Lecturer of the FASEB - 1974

Eli Lilly Lecturer of The Endocrine Society - 1973

Osborne and Mendel Award of The American Institute of Nutrition - 1973

Nicolas Andry Award from The Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons - 1971

Andre Lichtwitz Prize from the French Institut National de la Sante et de la Recherche Medicale - 1969

Meade Johnson Award of The American Institute of Nutrition - 1968

Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science - 1965

Harry Steenbock Research Professor, University of Wisconsin-Madison - 1965