The S.N. Bose Scholars Program

WINStep logo

To nurture future innovators and thought leaders, the University of Wisconsin-Madison (UW), the Government of India (DST), and the Indo-U.S. Science and Technology Forum (IUSSTF) are partnering to develop a dynamic and transformative student exchange program between premier scientific institutions in India and the United States.  The  Bose program mirrors the prestigious Khorana Scholars Program for biologically related sciences, initiated in 2007 at UW-Madison. 

The program is named in honor of Satyendra Nath Bose (1894 - 1974), a visionary Indian physicist best known for his work on quantum mechanics in the early 1920s. The class of particles that obey Bose-Einstein statistics, Bosons, was named after him.

Program information for interested U.S. Scholars

Program information for interested Indian Scholars

2013 Bose and Khorana Programs Newsletter [PDF]

Photo of S.N. Bose Scholars Program Launch
Launching the S.N. Bose Scholars Program in India (IIT-Bombay)
Left to Right: Drs. Arabinda Mitra (DST, Govt. of India), Devang Khakhar (Director,IIT Bombay), Hari Gopal (DST, Govt. of India), Norman Neureiter (American Association for the Advancement of Science), T. Ramasami (Secretary, DST, Govt. of India), T.S. Rao (DBT, Govt. of India), Rajiv Sharma (Executive Director, IUSSTF), Smriti Trikha (Sr. Science Manager, IUSSTF) and Nishritha Bopana (Principal Science Officer, IUSSTF. Dr. Aseem Z. Ansari (Founder and Director, Khorana and Bose Programs) attended via Skype.  Dr. William Colglazier (Scientific Adviser to US Secretary of State) and several other dignitaries were in attendance.

Indo-US Science and Technology Forum LogoDepartment of Science & Technology, Govt. of India LogoUniversity of Wisconsin - Madison Logo